Humanitarian Award

The first Humanitarian Award was presented to Dr. Randall Culp at the 2016 Annual Meeting in New Orleans. Dr. Glen Barden received the second Humanitarian Award at the 2017 Annual Meeting in Miami Beach, FL. Nominations are now being accepted for the 2020 EOA Humanitarian Award.


Nominations can be submitted by EOA Active Members
Nominees should be doctors who are currently serving or who have served in the traditional practice of Orthopaedic Surgery and are EOA Members in good standing

Guideline for Nominations

Humanitarian Attributes Include:

  • Provides services without expectation of remuneration;
  • Provides services to all equally, impartially, cooperatively and neutrally;
  • Embraces common moral decencies such as altruism, integrity, freedom, justice, honesty, truthfulness, responsibility and compassion;
  • Respects and embraces human diversity;
  • Improves the lives of those in need through selfless, courageous, creative and compassionate acts.

Some examples of the variety of musculoskeletal efforts eligible for EOA’s Humanitarian Award include:

  • Fundraising for recreational activities such as summer camps for people with disabilities;
  • Championing the rights of people with disabilities;
  • Acting as pro-bono staff/volunteer in outreach clinics, mobile facilities, and other aid missions for underserved United States or world populations;
  • Overseas volunteer medical service, either independently or through organizations such as Orthopaedics Overseas, Doctors Without Borders, Rotary International, etc.; or
  • Leadership during disaster relief.

A humanitarian IS NOT:

  • Someone who provides limited pro bono services in the course of daily business.
  • Someone who provides services to an underserved/disadvantaged or other population segment in the course of daily business/employment for which they receive remuneration.
  • Someone who provides services only to those who qualify.

The 2020 Humanitarian Award Recipient will be announced online and the award will be presented at the 2020 Annual Meeting.

Submission Deadline: July 1, 2020

Submit your nomination